top of page

ABOUT OUR SCHOOL

Kamalani is a Na Mea Hawaii Arts Integration public charter school. As a public school, we are tuition-free and funded by taxpayers. We serve students in Grades K-8. Our students must meet the same academic standards as all other Hawaii public school students. Kamalani is open to all students.

 

Kamalani is located at 1403 California Avenue, Wahiawa, in the building previously occupied by Our Lady of Sorrows Catholic School.

 

Our arts integration curriculum uses the arts (drama, dance, music, etc.) to teach the traditional academic subjects of math, reading, science, and social studies. A student need not have any particular artistic talent to attend Kamalani. We believe that all students can learn to enjoy the arts while enhancing their learning of academics. Our curriculum is modeled after the highly successful arts integration program at Pomaika`i Elementary on Maui and the Five Star, accredited Doral Academy Schools in Nevada. Click here to learn more about arts-integrated education.

 

Kamalani’s Hawaiian focus is an important part of who we are. Our students learn the Hawaiian language, dance, music, and culture. Our arts integration approach lends itself well to this. Kamalani students visit and study the sacred Kūkaniloko Birthing Stones. They learn to be stewards of the 'aina at the Wahiawa Botanical Gardens and in the Ahupua`a of Kaukonahua. It is our plan for Kamalani to take part in restoring Wahiawa’s ancient sandalwood forests.

Staff Emails

Name                                                                     Email Address

Abigail Wedow                                                                 Abigail.Wedow@kamalaniacademy.org

Amanda Langston                                                    Amanda.Langston@kamalaniacademy.org

Angela Mabini                                                                   Angela.Mabini@kamalaniacademy.org

Annie Tangonan                                                           Annie.Tangonan@kamalaniacademy.org

April Godby                                                                             April.Godby@kamalaniacademy.org

Brittni Brown                                                                          Brittni.Brown@kamalaniacademy.org

Colleen Chapman                                                    Colleen.Chapman@kamalaniacademy.org

Hannah Pickett                                                                Hannah.Pickett@kamalaniacademy.org

Hannah Vaden                                                                Hannah.Vaden@kamalaniacademy.org

Jordan Mori                                                                            Jordan.Mori@kamalaniacademy.org

Joy Nitta                                                                                       Joy.Nitta@kamalaniacademy.org

Karina Ehret                                                                           Karina.Ehret@kamalaniacademy.org

Kathleen Foster                                                               Kathleen.Foster@kamalaniacademy.org

Kawena Martinez                                                         Kawena.Martinez@kamalaniacademy.org

Kristenmarie Jones                                                  Kristenmarie.Jones@kamalaniacademy.org

Krystyl Clark                                                                           Krystyl.Clark@kamalaniacademy.org

Lawrie Kapanui-Alailima                                Lawrie.Kapanui-Alailima@kamalaniacademy.org

Mariah Zane                                                                         Mariah.Zane@kamalaniacademy.org

Michelle Pritchett                                                         Michelle.Pritchett@kamalaniacademy.org

Paulette Akuna                                                                 Paulette.Akuna@kamalaniacademy.org

Sage Fanene                                                                       Sage.Fanene@kamalaniacademy.org

Salome Wagner                                                            Salome.Wagner@kamalaniacademy.org

Sydney Kushima                                                           Sydney.Kushima@kamalaniacademy.org

bottom of page